Benefit Dew the Hoola Review

Dew the Hoola by Benefit is a new liquid bronzer named after their cult classic Hoola bronzer. I got a sample of this in a BirchBox and I thought I’d share my review on this since it’s still pretty new and there seems to be a lot of liquid bronzers coming out these days.

Swatches:

dew the hoola

You can see in the photo that this bronzer is VERY warm toned, almost orange. This is a HUGE deviation from the original Hoola, which has almost a gray undertone and is great as a contour. Blended out, I think it looks pretty nice. This can definitely NOT be used as a contour shade. I have about NC20 skin. I think this would NOT look good on people with pink tones, and it would not show up on anyone NC35 or higher. Benefit is usually guilty of not catering to darker skin tones, and this is yet another example.

Formula:

I find the formula of this to be quite nice. It feels nice and moisturizing on the skin. It blends out super easily with a stipple brush or beauty blender. It dries down to a matte feel and does not emphasize any texture or cling to dry patches. It layers well over foundation.

Pros:

  • Good for dry skin
  • Gives a warmed toned sun kissed look on light warm skin
  • Blends out easily

Cons:

  • Very warm-toned
  • Does not come in any darker or cooler shades

 

So overall I can make this work for my skin tone and skin type but I don’t think this is a very versatile or universal product. I really wish benefit would start branching out and creating products for more than one skin tone. And I think the extreme warm undertones of this product are weird considering the original Hoola bronzer is so cool toned.

❤ Jen

4726598_orig

Tumblr-Follow-Me

Leave a comment